Reese’s Fishing Adventure, 2013

Hey Readers!

Here in Ottawa, it is going to be a balmy -20°C, and I am LONGING for those warm, lazy days of summer.  Then the dusty ol’ light bulb flicked on in my head, and I remembered that I had forgotten all about my latest battle of wits versus the fish while I was visiting my boyfriend/partner’s parent’s home last summer, and I was transported back to that day on the boat.  Sure, I was sweating like crazy in my sweater to keep the mosquitoes at bay while wearing enough bug repellant to cover three people, but I enjoyed every minute on that boat!

On this trip, it was the same gang as last time, except my boyfriend/partner stayed behind to be with our little ones.  We all but duck taped my eldest daughter to her seat, as she loves going fishing, as is getting better at it each time she goes out.  Granndpa was at the helm of the boat, guiding us along the Napanee River that flows just minutes away from his home, and taking us to the prime fishing spots along the way.

Below are some shots of the scenery we had a chance to experience on our way to our first fishing spot.  There were some other fishing crews out on the river, too, trying to see if the fish were biting but  Grandpa was able to shake them off of our trail!

These are just some of the beautiful pics of scenery we had the advantage of being out on the Napanee River last summer.  This is not helping me deal with this freezing cold weather!

These are just some of the beautiful pics of scenery we had the advantage of being out on the Napanee River last summer. This is not helping me deal with this freezing cold weather!

Some of our casts were successful…

This was so much better than last year!  We lost a few while reeling them in, but we were proud of what we caught!

This was so much better than last year! We lost a few while reeling them in, but we were proud of what we caught!

while others were not.

Grandpa is showcasing our

Grandpa is showcasing our “Other Catch of the Day.” We caught a lot of weeds in our line.

We even had a few friends drop in for a visit.

Dragonflies are some of my favourite flying beings.  They are inspiring, and are a sign of positive change.  I guess my Lady Luck will smile down on me to get some fish!

Dragonflies are some of my favourite flying beings. They are inspiring, and are a sign of positive change. I guess my Lady Luck will smile down on me to get some fish!

Overall, it was a fabulous few hours fishing.  I am by no means the seasoned angler I want to be, but I am getting closer to this goal every time I cast my line!  I have to make a point to catch more than my fish-crazed daughter next time, or else I’ll hear the end of it!

Can’t wait for my trip this year!  I hope you enjoyed this little bit of summer, if only on your computer screen!  🙂

Until my next post, Readers!

Reese.

<// >

6 thoughts on “Reese’s Fishing Adventure, 2013

Leave a Reply

