Mundane Monday Morning Music: Teagan and Sara featuring The Lonely Island – “Everything Is Awesome”

Mornin’ Readers!

It’s another one of those gray “power suit” sweat pants and hoodie kind of mornings where I was really not in the mood to venture further than the foot of my bed.  Staying in my warm cocoon was not an option, as my “bosses” were letting me know that it was time to get day started (again, before the crack of dawn) and to hit the ground running.

After my mini breakfast and getting some initial items crossed off my Monday morning check list, I got this labour of love: Choosing my MMMM pick this week. Since the Oscars took place last night, I thought I would tip my hat to the songs that were nominated for Best Original Song. The songs in this year’s category were all fabulous, and last night’s winner, “Glory,” was so powerful and moving. I must tip my hat to John Stevens (John Legend) and Lonnie Lynn (Common…I learned his real name last night. You do learn something new everyday) for writing and performing such a beautiful song.

But “Glory” is not my MMMM pick this morning. There was one song out of last night’s nominees that seemed as though it was the frivolous one of the bunch, but if you think about the message of the song, it really does have a deeper meaning and is not as silly as it may seem. “Everything Is Awesome” from The LEGO® Movie is about looking at the positive side to every situation, and working together to make life better. It’s such a cute song, and, at first, you get caught up in the retro and bouncy feeling of the song. Along with the LEGO characters throughout this number in the movie, most people (me included) would miss the message the song was sending the first time they heard it.  I think this song is a great MMMM pick because it is inspiring, uplifting and fun to listen to.

I know this is going to come off as cheesy, but I really do hope that everything is awesome for you today on this mundane Monday morning!

Until my next post, Readers!

Reese

2 thoughts on “Mundane Monday Morning Music: Teagan and Sara featuring The Lonely Island – “Everything Is Awesome”

Leave a Reply

