My Favourite Christmas Television Specials

 

Hey, Readers!

It’s the beginning of Christmas vacation for many families (Yay). I have updated my list from last year so this list would only include Christmas TV specials. I have added a few extra specials we love watching at this time of the year.  Watching Christmas specials has been a tradition of mine since I was little, and now, my kids love watching them, too! Here is a list of my absolute favourite ones to watch (I couldn’t put them in order, as I like them all so much)!

wishing you a merry

A Charlie Brown Christmas I love this holiday special because it’s classic Charlie Brown trying to do right, yet goofing up along the way.  Oh, and The Vince Guaraldi Trio playing the score behind this special gets my family and I moving and grooving!  We also listen to the soundtrack of this TV special for part of Christmas Day every year while making breakfast.  Yeah, we love it THAT much!

I love this holiday special because it’s classic Charlie Brown trying to do right, yet goofing up along the way.  Oh, and The Vince Guaraldi Trio playing the score behind this special gets my family and I moving and grooving!  We also listen to the soundtrack of this special on Christmas Day every year while making  and eating breakfast.  Yeah, we love it THAT much!

The Grinch That Stole Christmas

Oh, how I love The Grinch!  Dr. Seuss’ adaptation from the popular Christmas story T’was The Night Before Christmas is loved by everyone in my household.  I think it is because The Grinch does all of these bad things to the residents in Whoville, then redeems himself at the end.  Well, it also has to do with the amazing job Dr. Seuss did with rewriting this tale, too!  It’s ingenious!

Frosty The Snowman

This one is one of my favourites partly because of the “evil” Magician. He’s probably the worst magician on the planet, yet when he throws his hat away and the children use it to finish off their snowman, the real magic begins. Another funny part in this TV special is when Frosty and the school children meet up with the traffic cop. The poor man never saw it coming!

A Garfield Christmas

This Christmas special is so dear to my family’s heart.  It has everything: slap-stick comedy, music, Garfield’s sarcasm and a bit of drama (tears begin to weld when Grandma is talking about her husband).   It’s a great one for the family to watch, and Garfield is the best cartoon cat ever!

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (Rankin-Bass/Classic Media version)

I had to save this one for last because this is the special most people think of when they think of Christmas specials.  It may look a bit kooky or creepy at times, but man, it doesn’t cease to entertain audiences.  It’s also one of the few Christmas specials that depicted Santa as a normal man who complains about life, and can be wrong about those around him.  I even love the Abominable Snow Monster! He used to be scary, but he’s simply amusing to me now!

I can (and have) watched all of these shows any time of the year!  I hope my short list gives you ideas as to how to get you and your family into the Christmas spirit this year!

What is your favourite Christmas TV special?

Until my next post, Readers!

Reese.

3 thoughts on “My Favourite Christmas Television Specials

  1. Pingback: My Favourite Christmas Movies – Family Edition | Reese Speaks

  2. Pingback: My Favourite Christmas Movies – The Reese Edition | Reese Speaks

  3. Pingback: Favourite Family Christmas Traditions | Reese Speaks

Leave a Reply

