My Favourite Christmas Movies – Family Edition

Hey, Readers!

A huge part of getting into the Christmas spirit for my family is watching the plethora of Christmas programming on television, our holiday DVD collection, and other streaming sites! I created an updated version of my fav Christmas television specials this year, and now I’m sharing my favourite Christmas movies that the whole family can enjoy together. Here is my short list of family favourite Christmas movies – the Family Edition.

reese-speaks-christmas-movies-photo

Home Alone 2: Lost in New York It’s rare that a sequel is as good as the original film, and

It’s rare that a sequel is as good as the original film and Home Alone 2: Lost in New York is one of them! This is why I started off my short list with this film. Just as the McCallisters thought they got it right this time, they become separated from Kevin, again! This time, he is alone in one of the biggest cities in the world: New York City! Most people would have loved to have had this experience (including me), and the laughs from the first film continued into this movie. This scene is one of my favs! I hope you enjoy it, too.

Muppet Christmas Carol

Out of all of the versions of A Christmas Carol that have been made into film over the years, no one did like Jim Henson! This Christmas movie is perfect for parents and kids alike because it’s funny, thought-provoking, and it’s a musical done Muppet-style!  Finally,  it brings back so many nostalgic memories for parents as well to share with their kids.

Gremlins

The story of a Christmas gift gone wrong is a movie for older kids, but a good one, none-the-less! I love the message it tells people about following the instructions given to them, and the consequences of not following this advice. Gizmo also makes this movie great. He is so adorable, and he has to get tough in order to help save the day!

Mickey’s Christmas Carol

Yes, Readers, another retelling of Dickens’ A Christmas Carol, only done the Disney-way! I love Scrooge McDuck as Ebeneezer Scrooge because his character is based on the Ebeneezer Scrooge, but Scrooge McDuck is funnier. This version of A Christmas Carol is also not a wacky as Muppet Christmas Carol, so if your family is in the mood for more of a traditional version of this story, then this is the one to watch!

Home Alone

It’s hard to believe that this movie is about 24 years-old! We all love watching this clever eight-year-old boy take on two not-so-clever burglars while he was mistakenly left, well, home alone.  The soundtrack is great, too! I have used some of these songs in my Christmas Hit List posts this year, too, because the songs are so awesome! This is a movie my family has watched too many times to count and will continue to watch well into the New Year! We love it THAT much!

So, there you have it! This is just a short list of my fav Christmas movies that the family can enjoy this holiday season. I just love having them on, whether we’re all together in our living room, or if we’re getting ready for the big day! I hope that this list also helps to fill the void when you are looking for something to watch during the holidays!

What is your fav Christmas movie to watch with your family every year?

Until my next post, Readers!

Reese

4 thoughts on “My Favourite Christmas Movies – Family Edition

  1. Pingback: My Favourite Christmas Movies – The Reese Edition | Reese Speaks

  2. Pingback: Year-End Wrap, 2014! | Reese Speaks

  3. Pingback: My Favourite Christmas Movies – The Reese Edition | Reese Speaks

  4. Pingback: Favourite Family Christmas Traditions | Reese Speaks

Leave a Reply

