Reese’s Halloween Video Picks, 2014

Halloooooooooooooooooo Readers!

It’s the big day! Halloween is upon us, and we love celebrating this day of spookiness in my family.  One way we like to get into the spirit of things (take that one as you will) is by listening to music while we decorate our home and porch as well as suiting up to go trick-or-treating or greeting kids who visit our home.

Last year, I posted a list of songs that I thought would get you into the Halloween mood.  This year, I thought I would compile a new short list of songs so you can have even more music to listen to while having fun today.

I thought I’d start off this year’s list with something a little fun and cute.  Enter The Nightmare Before Christmas soundtrack’s – “This is Halloween.” This is a family favourite at our house, and we watch this movie every year around Halloween, and Christmas for that matter!

Then I decided to get a little bit darker, so I decided to have Metallica’s “Enter Sandman” next in this compilation. I love this song, and it’s perfect for rocking out to on a day like today.

Moving back to something a little more lighthearted but still in the theme of Halloween, here is Michael Jackson’s “Ghost.” I couldn’t put “Thriller” on this list, as it was on last year’s list, but let me tell you, I was ever so tempted to do.  Since I’m an MJ fan, one of his songs had to be included.

Rolling Stones’ “Sympathy For The Devil” may not be a very spooky, but the lyrics are brilliant, telling of the of the events in history that, for the purpose of this song, were the doing of the Devil himself.  Since this version is my favourite (and the original), I could not leave it off of my list this year!

Stevie Wonder’s “Superstition?” Why is it on my list? Well, because the song is about superstitions, which also have a loose tie into Halloween. That, and I love this song!  😛

I thought that Iron Maiden’s” Fear Of The Dark” would be the perfect way to end this year’s list.  This song brings all of those creepy and eerie feelings people have about the dark, and make you think twice about what you see and hear at the night when you’re alone.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my short list of Halloween videos for this year, Readers! Hopefully, you will enjoy the day, and look out for those things that go bump in the night!

Until my next post, Readers!

Reese

2 thoughts on “Reese’s Halloween Video Picks, 2014

  1. I can’t believe I missed this one before Halloween! No matter – I still love it! And yay for “spooky” music posts. That said, I have a soft spot for the GnR cover of Sympathy for the Devil… I’ve never heard Ghost – so off to give that a listen! Otherwise love the mix of darker stuff (Metallica!) with the lighter fare!

    • Hey Louise! For some, it is Halloween every year, so you didn’t miss it. I’m glad you enjoyed this list! I was so close to using the GnR version of Sympathy for the Devil, but I love the Stones, so I had to tip my hat to them! Thanks for giving Ghost a bit of a listen. It’s not my fav MJ song, but it was Halloween, so why not! :p Thanks for having fun with my “spooky” music post, Louise! (Sorry about the weird spacing. My Enter key is being wonky right now. Hopefully this will end soon. 😦 )

Leave a Reply

