I Have A Teenager (EEEEEEEK!)

Hey Readers!

The day has finally come! My eldest daughter has finally turned 13! I have been waiting for this day since the day she was born (Yay!). You are probably asking why I am so so excited that my baby (in my head, my kids will always be my babies) is now a teenager? I guess I am happy to see my daughter reach yet another milestone in her life.  Here are the major milestones I get really excited about where my kids are concerned:

  • Being born healthy
  • Their 1st birthday
  • Walking and talking
  • Potty training
  • Reading and writing without help
  • Their first day of school
  • Their 5th birthday (Bye-bye toddler hood!)
  • Their 1st best friend
  • Their 10th birthday
  • Their 1st organized sport game
  • Their 13th birthday (Bye-Bye Childhood!)

I looked at my younger two kids and I wonder where all of these years went when I look at my eldest (man, I’m old!).  I flashback to when she loved dancing without a care to her favourite songs, how she climbed on top of all of the furniture so we had to move all of our framed pictures about another foot or so higher on our wall, and her interest in insects and bugs.

Shaking the fog of the flashback away to return to the here and now,  she’s a lot like me when I was her age (tall, lanky, loved sports, hated showing any skin), but there are so many differences, too (she likes public speaking, she LOVES eating nuts, and she doesn’t love recreational reading). It’s still surprises me that this awesome kid was once this little bitty thing.

I know that many parents cringe a bit when having to deal with a teen daughter, and my mom can’t wait to see if Karma will rear its head when I start dealing with a teenaged girl. I am really excited to see where this girl young woman is going to go from this point forward. I know she would not have changed much since yesterday when she was still officially 12, but can’t wait for her to grow even more into her own. It’s been great to see some of her wardrobe choices, her taste in movies, music and television shows, and her choice in friends. It’s the big milestones during this new part of her life that unnerve me a bit, yet I can’t wait to help her through.  You know,

  • 1st crush
  • 1st big argument with her
  • Changes in appearance and wardrobe
  • 1st big fight with her BFFs
  • 1st date
  • 1st relationship
  • 1st break-up
  • Prom night (yikes!)
  • Leaving mama’s nest.

Luckily, I have my older sister who has a 16 year-old son to look to for advice and another ear to hear my rantings about the crazy thing my daughter has done. Then we’ll reminisce about the silly things we did in the same situations. If she is anything like me as a teenager, she shouldn’t get into too much trouble… 😛

The most important thing that I do not want for my daughter to lose with me is her confidence in coming to me to talk about what’s on her mind. Sure, she will turn to her friends more and more, but, as I’ve told her and continue to tell her, that my ear is always willing to listen to what she has to say, and that we are her to help her, no matter what situation she has gotten herself into.

So here’s to my eldest turning 13! I want nothing but the best for her, and I have enjoyed following along her life’s adventure so far, and I can’t wait to see where she will o lead me in her future.

One down, two to go!

Until my next post, Readers!

Reese

5 thoughts on “I Have A Teenager (EEEEEEEK!)

  1. Happy Birthday 13th to your Daughter! I don’t exactly remember turning 13 but I remember being excited to be a teenager. Age is only a number (at least I try and tell myself that, smile) but it is interesting to watch them develop and grow into their own. As for Karma, I hope it doesn’t bite me in the toe 🙂

    Besos, Sarah
    Blogger at Journeys of The Zoo

    • Thanks, Sarah! It wakes me up to see this young lady in front of me since it was just yesterday that she was just walking. Now it will be interesting to see her become more mature. For her, 13 is not important. 14 is the biggie for her!

  2. Happy birthday to your daughter! I remember turning 13! I still have the candle from my 13th birthday cake because I remember thinking what a big deal it was to become a teenager. I hope the teen years treat you both well!

    • Thanks for the well wishes, Louise! For her, it was (almost) just another day. Since 14 is her favourite number, she can’t wait until next year! I hope her teen years will be as calm as her childhood (yes, I said that with a straight face)! Here’s to wishing! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Mundane Monday Morning: DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince – “Parents Just Don’t Understand” | Reese Speaks

Leave a Reply

