Reese’s 2014 Acadamy Awards Wrap-Up

Hey Readers!

Well, Oscar® Night has come and gone.  The dresses have spun their way across the Red Carpet, the pizza has been eaten, and the little golden guys have new homes with the winners of last night’s event.  With Ellen DeGeneres at the helm, the 86th Academy Awards was a night of fun, fashion and food!  To wrap it up for you, below are the winners from the categories I picked from a few days ago.

Best PictureCaptain PhillipsNope! I was wrong here! The winner was 12 Years a Slave. I thought Tom Hanks was going to pull a lucky rabbit out of his hat to get this win.

Best ActorChiwetel Ejifor (12 Years a Slave). Wrong, again! Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club) got the statue in this category.

Best ActressCate Blanchette (Blue Jasmine) Yay! She looked gorgeous last night, too!

Best Supporting ActorBradley Cooper (American Hustle).  No, it was Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club) who won in this category. Man, it’s not looking too good for my picks, is it?

Best Supporting ActressLupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave) She was beautiful in her gown last night, and her acceptance speech was so heart-felt.

Best Animated FilmFrozen. Yes, another correct pick, but this one was a no-brainer.

Best Original Song“Let It Go” (Frozen). This one was a tough pick.  It was a toss-up between this song and U2’s Original Love.  I’m glad I stuck with my pick!

I’m not sure why I didn’t have a pick for Best Director.  Alfonso Cuarón won the statue for Gravity.  This movie picked up just about every besides Best Actress (Sandra Bullock was nominated), and Best Picture.
Well, Readers, I had fun watching the big show last night.  It didn’t feel as though the night was dragging along at all!  I hope Ellen comes back next year to host.  She really did make the evening fun. Overall, from my picks for winners, I was about 60% on the money.  It’s not great, but it’s not bad, either.

How did your picks hold up?

Until my next post, Readers!

Reese.

Leave a Reply

