Product Review: SLOTDOG – Hot Dog Fun for Everyone!

Hey Readers!

Hotdogs. These delightful meaty treats are one of the highlights of a good barbecue.  From time to time, they tend to turn up at the ends, or some people find it difficult to keep all of the toppings on their hot dog because they slide off the top and off the ends with nothing to catch it but your hand or plate.   I was given the opportunity to review SLOTDOG, a device that wants to change your barbecuing experience where hot dogs are concerned.

SLOTDOG, was created in Muskoka, Ontario, Canada by Daniel Crichton and his family.  Crichton wanted to stop eating hot dogs that he found to be boring, or that were not cooked properly.  SLOTDOG is suppose to guarantee that your hot dogs will cook evenly and quicker by using SLOTDOG than if you were not to use this device.

This is how I usually would cook up my hot dogs:

SAMSUNG

Yep, on the stove with a bit of boiling water.  It’s quick, but it is a bit lack- luster.

I was very curious about SLOTDOG when I heard about it.  I was wondering just how easy it would be to use.  When I received it in the mail, I was pleasantly surprised that it was already assembled, and in one simple box! It is also light weight, so it is not hard to maneuver.

This is it! I like how the blades are only exposed on the bottom.  It is not heavy, and the handle iss easy to grip, too.

This is it! I like how the blades are only exposed on the bottom. It is not heavy, and the handle is easy to grip, too.

Here are the instructions to use SLOTDOG:

1. Press the SLOTDOG down on the opposite sides of a hot dog.

This is me using the SLOTDOG. You sort of have to give it a bit of a press to make sure the blades are breaking the skin of the hot dog.  This is because the blades are not razor sharp. You feel a bit of a pop when you do it properly.

This is me using the SLOTDOG. You sort of have to give it a bit of a press to make sure the blades are breaking the skin of the hot dog. This is because the blades are not razor sharp. You feel a bit of a pop when you do it properly.

2. Place the hot dog on the barbecue. For this post, since it was too cold to use our grill, I did this test in my oven at 350°F for about 10 minutes to simulate what would happen on the grill.

This is the design you'll get once you've used the SLOTDOG on your hotdog.  My younger daughter said it looked like a dinosaur!

This is the design you’ll get once you’ve used the SLOTDOG on your hotdog. My younger daughter said it looked like a dinosaur!

For this comparison, I used the same kind of hot dog for the SLOTDOG hot dog as well as the normal hot dog.

For this comparison, I used the same kind of hot dog for the SLOTDOG hot dog as well as the normal hot dog.

3. Watch it as it changes, expanding to easily let you know when the hot dog is thoroughly cooked.  This is how the hot dogs came out:

Here they are! Fresh out of the oven! Look at the difference!

Here they are! Fresh out of the oven! Look at the difference!

It was really interesting to the difference  in the two hot dogs.  While the hot dogs were cooking, it really was easy to see when they were ready by looking at the SLOTDOG hot dog.  I could see the SLOTDOG hot dog get bigger the more cooked it became.  The normal hot dog just split down its seam, and I only saw that after I took the hot dogs out of the oven. The SLOTDOG hot dog, to me, even looks better, and kept its shape better than the normal hot dog after being out of the oven for a while. It also held the ketchup on the hot dog better than the normal hot dog.

This is what they look like all dressed up!  I'm not too adventurous when it comes to putting toppings on my hot dogs. I'm also not sure why the ketchup is lighter on the SLOTDOG hot dog than it is on the normal dog. It's in the same light, and I used the same camera and camera mode to shoot both pictures.

This is what they look like all dressed up! I’m not too adventurous when it comes to putting toppings on my hot dogs. I’m also not sure why the ketchup is lighter on the SLOTDOG hot dog than it is on the normal dog. It’s in the same light, and I used the same camera and camera mode to shoot both pictures.

Another good thing about this product is that it is dishwasher safe.  You just have to make sure the blades are facing down so they are cleaned properly.  When I first used it, I did wash it with soap and water.  It still was fairly easy to clean as the handle makes it easy to hold, and the blades are not too sharp, so I didn’t cut myself when cleaning between them.

Overall, I liked the SLOTDOG.  It was easy to use, and clean.  It also kept my ketchup on the hot dog better than the normal hot dog.  The SLOTDOG will not change the taste of your hot dogs, but it makes your hot dog eating experience a whole lot more fun! Try it the next time you’re going to barbecue, a special event, or even the next time you have a craving for a delicious hot dog!

Disclaimer: For the purposes of this review, I received the above mentioned product free of charge and with no compensation.  All opinions are honest and are my own. Feature image used with consent of Muskoka Maverick, Ltd.

Until my next post, Readers!

Reese.

<// >

Leave a Reply

