Vanilla Cupcakes, Part 1

Hey Readers!

I alluded to this attempt at baking  in my Reese’s Christmas Holidays Wrap-Up, 2013 post.  I was not too happy with the results of this recipe.  Since I’m far from being Betty Crocker or Duncan Hines, I like to try recipes my friends who have the natural gift of baking or the Internet have to offer.  I found this recipe on Spoonful.com.  It was a simple recipe, but I found a few things a little troubling about the amounts they were asking for where the ingredients were  concerned.

Here are the Ingredients and Directions:

2-1/2 Cups All-Purpose Flour

2 Cups Sugar

1 Cup Milk

3/4 Cup Vegetable Oil

4 Eggs

2-1/4 Teaspoons Baking Powder

1 Teaspoon Vanilla

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line two 9-inch round cake pans or one 9×13-inch rectangular pan with parchment paper. Grease the paper and the sides of the pan well. (Since I made cupcakes, I greased the sides of the cupcake tin.  You ca also use paper cupcake liners as well.).

image

2. In a large mixing bowl, with an electric mixer, beat sugar and eggs together until slightly thickened, about one minute. Add flour, milk, oil baking powder and vanilla and beat for another minute, just until the batter is smooth and creamy.  Don’t overheat. Pour batter into the prepared baking pan(s).

image

3. Bake in preheated oven for 30-40 minutes or until the tops are golden brown and a toothpick poked into the center of the layer comes out clean (A single rectangular pan will take longer to bake than two round ones.). Loosen the sides of the cake from the pan with a knife, then turn out onto a rack ad peel off the paper (Since I made cupcakes, I baked them for about 16 minutes, using the toothpick method).

 

image

Let it cool completely before covering with frosting, if desired.

 

image

I found that, when I followed the directions for the amount of sugar and vanilla, the batter tasted very sweet, and nothing like vanilla.  While the first batch was baking away in the oven, I added more vanilla to the remainder of the batter.  It tasted a bit better.  When the first batch came out of the oven, the cupcakes were indeed too sweet.  They were still edible, though.

I was figuratively crossing my fingers as the second batch came out of the oven.  I waited a minute or two,then took a nibble out of one of these cupcakes. They did taste better than the first batch!  They were even tastier when I put frosting (store bought) on them.  It was a great NYE. I had a sugar rush, then passed out after 2 AM.

I will have to try another vanilla cake recipe, so I can learn how to bake more goodies from scratch.  I know it’s kind of boring of me, but I really love a good vanilla cake.  I will be trying a new recipe I found in the near future.  Look out for my post on the continuation of this saga!

Until my next post, Readers!

Reese.

12 thoughts on “Vanilla Cupcakes, Part 1

  1. That is indeed a lot of sugar! However, I find that most cupcake recipes will call for as such…or in cookies, you’ll often see 1 cup brown, 1 cup white…yikes! I usually put 3/4 cup or less. Simple vanilla cupcakes are a favorite, because you can dress them up however you like… in your case, chocolate 🙂 yum!

Leave a Reply

