My Favourite Christmas Movies/TV Specials – Family Edition

Hey Readers!

I LOVE Christmas, and just about everything that goes along with it: putting up the tree, decorating the house, baking with my kids, etc.  Another  Christmas tradition I love is  having some family time watching some of my favourite Christmas movies and TV specials.  I have been doing this since I was little, and now, my kids love watching these  Here is a list of my absolute favourite ones (I couldn’t put them in order, as I like them all so much):

A Charlie Brown Christmas – I love this holiday special because it’s classic Charlie Brown trying to do right, yet goofing up along the way.  Oh, and The Vince Guaraldi Trio playing the score behind this special gets my family and I moving and grooving!  We also listen to the soundtrack of this TV special for part of Christmas Day every year while making breakfast.  Yeah, we love it THAT much!

The Grinch That Stole Christmas – Oh, how I love the Grinch!  Dr. Seuss’ adaptation from the popular Christmas story T’was The Night Before Christmas is loved by everyone in my household.  I think it is because The Grinch does all of these bad things to the residents in Whoville, then redeems himself at the end.  Well, it is also has to do with the amazing job Dr. Seuss did with rewriting this tale, too!  It’s ingenious!

Home Alone – Ah, the only non-animated feature of the bunch, but man, is it an awesome flick!  It’s great seeing this clever 8 year-old boy take on two not-so bright burglars with things around his home while he was mistakenly left, well, home alone.  The soundtrack is great, too!  We love the sequel of this film, too, but if I can only pick 1 film from this franchise, it would have to be the original!

Garfield Christmas – This Christmas special is so dear to my family’s heart.  It had everything: slap-stick comedy, music, and a bit of drama (tears begin to weld when Grandma is talking about her  husband).   It’s a great one for the family to watch.

Muppet Christmas Carol – Out of all of the versions of A Christmas Carol that have been made over the years, no one did like Jim Henson sis it! This Christmas movie is perfect for parents and kids alike because it’s funny, thought-provoking, and it’s a musical done in their Muppet way!  It also gets kids asking about the Charles Dickens classical novel it’s based on, and  it brings back so many nostalgic memories for parents as well to share with their kids.

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (Rankin-Bass/Classic Media version) – I had to save this one for last because this is the show people think of when they think of Christmas specials.  It may look a bit kooky or creepy at times, but man, it doesn’t cease to entertain audiences.  This special will be hitting it’s 50th birthday next year, so another special edition will probably be available to buy (which I will).  It’s one of the few Christmas specials that shows Santa as a normal man who complains about life, and can be wrong about those around him.  I even love the Abominable Snow Monster! He used to be scary, but he’s just funny to me now!

I can (and have) watched all of these shows/movies any time of the year!  I hope my short list gives you ideas as to how to get you and your family into the Christmas spirit this year!

Until my next post, Readers!

Reese.

One thought on “My Favourite Christmas Movies/TV Specials – Family Edition

  1. Pingback: My Favourite Christmas Movies – The Reese Edition | Reese Speaks

Leave a Reply

