Universal Children’s Day, 2013: A Day to Cherish Children

Hey Readers!

Many countries around the world today are celebrating Children’s Day, a day to honor children globally.  On November 20, 1959, it was proclaimed by the The United Nations General Assembly that a day be set aside to encourage countries around the world to have children engage in celebrating the lives of children globally, as well as to bring awareness to and to promote the well being of children around the world.

This is why I love a day like today.  It is suppose to take the focus off of troubles adults are causing, and focusing on trying to make the world a little bit better for the children we are bringing into it.  I am in awe of Canadians like Romeo Dallaire, and  organizations like Plan Canada’s Because I Am A Girl, who are looking out for the welfare of children around the world.

I also must tip my hat to organizations within my own community that are trying to make the lives of children better, as well.  I was lucky enough to have attended a function last night put on by the The Fund for a New Generation (FNG), an not-for-profit organization that supports underprivileged youth within the city of Ottawa.   FNG hosts the Ottawa Gala, an annual event which helps to raise money to be put towards charities that support youth within Ottawa.

The function last night was to thank the sponsors of the Gala last year, as well as to present the charities chosen to be funded by FNG for 2013 with their donations.  I was so happy to have volunteered for this year’s event, and I am excited to be a part of the planning committee for the 2014 Gala!  My eldest goes to school with some of the children who are supported by children who are funded by FNG, so I felt I should give my time to an organization that helps them.

I wanted to add Janet Jackson’s  Livin’ in a World (They Didn’t Make) to my list of favourite Janet Jackson songs, but then I decided against it.  I felt I should keep it for a day like today when the lives and well-being of children are the focus.  I know, it’s a sad song, but it also focuses on what some adults are doing to harm children instead of nurture them.  It’s not the video, but her song with a gallery of pictures put together by ZELLDARAYS on Youtube (thanks!).

I’m giving my little ones eve more hugs today because of how lucky I feel to have them, as well as to guide them to want to give back to those kids who are not as lucky to be as fortunate as they are.

Until my next post, Readers!

Reese.

Related Article/Links:

Umer Farooq (The Express Tribune with the International New York Times) – Universal Children’s Day: Activists to hold Awareness programs, gathering today – http://tribune.com.pk/story/634102/universal-childrens-day-activists-to-hold-awareness-programmes-gatherings-today/

UN General Assembly – Declaration of the Rights of the Child http://www.un.org/en/ga/search/view_doc.asp?symbol=A/RES/1386%20%28XIV%29

United Nations  Universal Children’s Day – November 20- http://www.un.org/en/events/childrenday/

Leave a Reply

