Reese’s Thanksgiving in Canada’s Captial

Hey Readers!

For those of you that didn’t know, I’m Canadian.  For us Canadians, it was our Thanksgiving weekend.  I had my mom, one of my nieces and one of my nephews come to visit me in the Capital (Ottawa) to celebrate.  Here are some pics showing what this Thanksgiving was like for me this year!

My eldest daughter and I started the day off with a late morning bike ride.  Since we gave her a new bike for her birthday, the two of us decided to let her break it in.  We rode along the Rideau Canal Western Pathway.

Rideau Canal Western Pathway, Ottawa, ON

It is so pretty all-year round, so I couldn’t help but to take pics during our ride.  We passed certain stops such as Brown’s Inlet

These ducks met us at our first of many stops along our bike ride that morning.

These ducks met us at our first of many stops along our bike ride that morning.

Here are a pair having fun in the pond!

Here are a pair having fun in the pond!

I had to take a pic of this tree across from the ducks right by the Rideau Canal!  I thought the tree, and those behind it, made for a lovely shot.

I had to take a pic of this tree across from the ducks close to the Rideau Canal! I thought the tree, and those behind it, made for a lovely shot.

stopped at a monument along the Rideau Canal Western Pathway behind Frank Clair Park (where the CFL’s Ottawa Redblacks call home),

This is a gorgeous example of the different colours of leaves in autumn here in Ottawa!

This is a gorgeous example of the different colours of leaves in autumn here in Ottawa!

Here's another shot along the Rideau Canal Western Pathway on the other side of Frank Clair Stadium.  You can really see how autumn has arrived in Canada's capital.

Here’s another shot along the Rideau Canal Western Pathway on the other side of Frank Clair Stadium. You can really see how autumn has arrived in Canada’s capital.

I just love this grouping of plants and trees in this shot!  It made for a very pretty ride.

I just love this grouping of plants and trees in this shot! It made for a very pretty ride.

and Patterson Creek because they are so pretty at this time of year.

Here are some of the trees by Patterson Creek, close to the Rideau Canal.  These are really lovely as well.

Here are some of the trees by Patterson Creek, close to the Rideau Canal. These are really lovely as well.

Here is a shot of my eldest girl on her bike.  She was unaware I was taking this pic.  She didn't mind.

Here is a shot of my eldest girl on her bike. She was unaware I was taking this pic. She didn’t mind.

Here is a squirrel hard at work getting ready for our fabulous Outaouais winters.  Good luck, squirrel!

Here is a squirrel hard at work getting ready for our fabulous Outaouais winters. Good luck, squirrel!

I know, even more trees around Patterson Creek!  It's just a really gorgeous spot all-year round.

I know, even more trees around Patterson Creek! It’s just a really gorgeous spot all-year round.

Here's my biker girl hamming it up for the camera along Patterson Creek.  This time, she knew I was shooting her.

Here’s my biker girl hamming it up for the camera along Patterson Creek. This time, she knew I was shooting her.

After our ride, I then turned around, and took the kids outside for a while so my mom and my boyfriend/partner could get some time to cook and some peace and quiet.

To give my mom and our chef (my boyfriend/partner) a break from a house full of kids, I took them out for a long walk to try and tucker them out.  It was one of the quietest evenings all weekend!

I took them out for a long walk to try and tucker them out. It was one of the quietest evenings all weekend!

Since I didn’t take them out long enough, we went over to one of the many parks in my area to try and burn even more of their energy.

I know, another tree pic!  It was at the park, and it towers over everything!

I know, another tree pic! It was at the park, and it towers over everything!

Took the troops to the park after the park, but before out Thanksgiving feast.  I loved this patch of leaves and seeds on the ground.

I loved this patch of leaves and seeds on the ground.

Then we finally got to enjoy Thanksgiving dinner!  Let me tell you, Readers, my man can cook!  Everything was so good!  Thanks, Chef Boyfriend/Partner!

No, I don't think this was enough dressing for all of us to eat.  ;P

No, I don’t think this was enough dressing/stuffing for all of us to eat. ;P

I know, the pic is blurry!  It's because the chef wanted me out of the kitchen while he was trying to finish his family feast.

I know, the pic is blurry! It’s because the chef wanted me out of the kitchen while he was trying to finish his family feast.

This was our chef's creation!  It was so good, I had a second helping (though not as much as the first time)!

This was our chef’s creation! It was so good, I had a second helping (though not as much as this plate)!

Well, Readers, that was Thanksgiving, 2013 at the Reese Residence in Canada’s capital!  It was fun and delicious, and it was good to see a part of my family for a few days.  Can’t wait to go home to Toronto and do all of this there!

Until my next post, Readers!

Reese.

Leave a Reply

