My Take on Easy Chocolate Snacking Cake! #Recipe

Hey, Readers!

I did it! I went back into the kitchen, this time in the spirit of Christmas.  As some of may know, it is one of my absolute favourite times of the year.  I love having plenty of treats around the house so that family and friends can fill their faces while celebrating the season.  I decided to try this recipe for Chocolate Snacking Squares after watching Canadian Living: Best Recipes Ever this holiday season, and now it is one of my family’s favourite treats to eat throughout the year!

After gathering all of the my ingredients (some of them were wrong like the sweetened cocoa powder and the demerara sugar), my eldest daughter and I threw on the Christmas specials on TV (you know, to add to our Christmas euphoria), and started baking up these little delights!

 

Here they are!  All cut into 36 mini cubes of snacking fun.  Yeah, I know, They're a bit crumbly, but highly addictive! I'm glad they were around this past holiday season.  I needed mini shots of chocolate every now and then.  Next time, I'll use icing or icing sugar to top them off.

 

These little squares of delight were really good!  I was so shocked as to how they came out. This recipe was a good one, and I plan on using again, and again, and again! Try it out for yourself, tweak it, and enjoy! Thanks, Canadian Living: Best Recipes Ever for sharing this recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/3 cups
  • (325 mL) all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup (125 mL) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp (5 mL) baking powder
  • 1 tsp (5 mL) baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp (2 mL)
  • salt 1 cup (250 mL) packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup (125 mL) buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup (125 mL) water
  • 1/4 cup (60 mL) vegetable oil
  • 1-1/2 tsp (7 mL) vanilla
  • Icing sugar, (optional)
*NOTE – I leave out the baking soda whenever I make this recipe. The squares are a bit more dense, but so much more chocolaty! I also use the milk I have on hand from time to time when I cannot run out to the store to fetch some buttermilk.

Instructions:

In large bowl, sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Press brown sugar through sieve; combine with dry ingredients.
Huh?
Add buttermilk, water, oil and vanilla; whisk until smooth.
Pour the mixture into greased 9-inch (2.5 L) square cake pan.
Ready for Baking?
Bake in 350°F (180°C) oven for about 35 minutes or until the centre is completely baked through after testing with a toothpick or a knife.Let cool.
Fresh Out of The Oven!
Dust with icing sugar (this step is optional).
Cut into squares.

The Finished Product!

Serves 36 small square pieces.

I hope that you enjoy these little chocolaty delights as much as we do, especially with a dollop of French Vanilla Ice Cream on the side!

Dish with me: What is your favourite treat to eat during the holidays?

Until my next post, Readers!

Reese

One thought on “My Take on Easy Chocolate Snacking Cake! #Recipe

  1. Pingback: Purdys Chocolate is Gearing Up to Sweeten Canada’s Capital! | Reese Speaks

Leave a Reply

