Reese’s Big Fishing Adventure!

Hey Readers!

Fishing.  For some people, it is the ultimate past time.  For a born and bred city girl like myself, it seemed as though it was a day spent in a boat surrounded by swarms of killer bugs trying to catch this unattainable prize that is laughing at you for attempting to entice it with your rod and bait.   When the opportunity came for me to actually try fishing, I was a little apprehensive, yet it was an experience I had never tried.  So with my fishing rod in hand, and a sweater to aid my paranoia of insects, I boarded a boat with my oldest daughter, my boyfriend, and his father to take on this new challenge.

We are off in the boat to find a good fishing spot...can't wait to catch my first whopper!

We are off in the boat to find a good fishing spot…can’t wait to catch my first whopper!

Love nature shots!  I just liked the set-up of the log and the light filtering through the trees while we passed by

Love nature shots! I just liked the set-up of the log and the light filtering through the trees while we passed by

VERY hard to see, but can you see the crane on the shoreline?

VERY hard to see, but can you see the crane on the shoreline?

This was just a beautiful area!  I had to get a shot of it.

This was just a beautiful area! I had to get a shot of it.

This a gorgeous shot of the Napanee River while speeding along in our boat.  The water was so calm and beautiful.  We're off to find a good fishing spot!

This a gorgeous shot of the Napanee River while speeding along in our boat. The water was so calm and beautiful. We’re off to find a good fishing spot!

Can't help it!  This group of trees and logs compelled me to whip out my camera.

Can’t help it! This group of trees and logs compelled me to whip out my camera.

This was one of the fish I was trying to catch, but I wasn't quick enough reeling it in.  Most of my day was like that, but it was fun!

This was one of the fish I was trying to catch, but I wasn’t quick enough reeling it in. Most of my day was like that, but it was fun!

This was not on my line, but we got one!  Not bad for a first-timer, huh?!

This was not on my line, but we got one! Not bad for a first-timer, huh?!  Don’t worry, we caught and released it.

After we fished and fished some more, we realized it was getting late, turned the boat around, and headed for home.  I was able to see why people enjoyed fishing so much.  Whether you are alone or with a group of people you like hanging out with, it is a chance to take in nature right at the source.  We laughed at each other for loosing fish, or just being goofy.

It was a good time, and where the bugs were concerned, we were lucky because it was too early in the year for a lot of bugs to attack us.  Would I go fishing again?  Yes, I would.  I don’t think I’d go everyday, but it would be good to do once in a while.  Hopefully on my next fishing excursion, I’ll actually catch something!  If I do, I’ll let you know!

Until my next post, Readers!

Reese.

One thought on “Reese’s Big Fishing Adventure!

  1. Loved the pictures and the story. My wife goes out with me from time to time. Sometimes fishes, sometimes reads a book,sometimes both. Not being an early riser, I usually go out at daylight and fish till she calls on the cell phone, then I go back to the dock and pick her up. She just enjoys the out of doors more than anything. And there is nothing wrong with that.

Leave a Reply

